Club History

The following is an extract from Sid Grant's 'The History of Coalfields Soccer':

Over the years, doubt has been expressed about the birth of soccer in Cessnock.

To get down to the basic truths, Sid Grant, a well known historian, undertook a detailed research including personal interviews with old Bob Harden (ex-West Wallsend skipper), Tom Rennex, ‘G ‘Tup’’ Rennex, Alf Brunskill, Alec Renfrew and others.

But the truth of this problem came out when a former Secretary of the NDBFA, Mr George Reay of Dudley, presented Sid with both the official minute book and registrar of players book for the period 1902-1911.

This indicated clearly that soccer started in Cessnock in April, 1907. A group of 15 sportsmen met on a vacant allotment just south of the Cessnock railway station. Many of these enthusiasts were recent arrivals from Minmi, West Wallsend, Greta and Stockton.

The first ground was a large vacant area near where the Aberdare Park was established 15 years later.

2007 saw Cessnock celebrate 100 years of soccer football. A book of the Club’s trials and tribulations for the last 100 hundred years has being compiled and is available for purchase at a cost of $50 (postage extra).

If you would like to purchase a book please contact Julie Chapman on 0401 107 536 to arrange payment and collection.


Cessnock is proud of the impressive list of its players who have gone on to play for Australia. These players include:

Cliff AlmondJim Orr
John BarrGreg Owens
Les BrownPhil Peters
Jack DrinkwaterJohn Pettigrew
Jack 'Digger' EvansAlec Purdon
Jim HardenJohn Roberts
Lo HearneGeorge Rowe
Eddie HodgeGeorge Russell
Jack LennardLorissa Stevens
Perce LennardJack Taylor
William LonerganCec Williams
Roy McNaughtonErn Williams
Amber NeilsonClayton Zane
Kevin O'Neill

Cessnock were also privileged to have other notable players who had played for Australian in Alec Heaney and Bobby Austin.

Many other Cessnock players have played at various other state and representative levels; including:

John Bond W Howe Jim Porteus
Derek Bright Michael Hughes Ned Price
Bill Brown G Humphris George Rennex
Les Burnett Bill Inglis Albert Simmonds
Danny Burt Phil Johns Tom Sneddon
E Callaghan Roy Johns Michael Southworth
J Clarke Theo Jurd J Strang
F Corrigan George Kiers Charlie Thompson
Tom Durie Graham King Gordon Thomson
William Edwards J Laird Jimmy Thomson Snr
Dave Evans Reg Lennard Billy Thomson
Len Falk Harold Lonsdale William Victor
H George K McLennan Jack Wallace
Warren Halverson J Marshall T Wardrop
C Hamilton W Mathieson Bill Whitelaw
Roy Harden Cec Mowatt Jack Wilkinson
Neil Henderson Jim Nelson George Williams
James Hogg Harro Otto Matt Willoughby
John Hogg A Park


Newcastle Premiership1912, 1924 (shared), 1927
Newcastle Premiership Senior Trophies1925, 1926
State Association Premiership1928, 1929
State League Premiership - Northern Division1954, 1955, 1956, 1958
State League Champions1954, 1956, 1958
Northern NSW Premierships -
    1st Division Minor & Major Premiers1960
    2nd Division Minor Premiers1977
    2nd Division Major Premiers1986
    2nd Division Major Premiers1987
    2nd Division Minor & Major Premiers1988
    2nd Division Minor Premiers1992
    2nd Division Major Premiers1993
Ascot Cup (Joint winners with Newcastle Austral)1960
Benchmark Cup1989
Daniels Cup1958
Ellis Cup1911, 1912, 1927, 1960
Hampden Cup1910
Hemmings Cup1909
Kerr Cup1923, 1927
Northern Cup1933
Nurse Cup1920
Plummer Cup1954, 1960
Richardson Cup (U21's)1923, 1925
State Association Cup1929
Stevenson Cup1925, 1927, 1939, 1954

Reserve Grade

South Maitland Premiers1931
State League Northern Division - Minor Premiers & Alliance Cup1948
State League Northern Division Minor & Major Premiers1955
Northern NSW - 2nd Division Major Premiers1966
Northern NSW - 1st Division Minor Premiers1972
Northern NSW - 2nd Division Minor Premiers1988


Under 18's - South Maitland Premiers1924
Under 18's - 2nd Division Minor Premiers1985
4th Grade - South Maitland Premiers1924

Senior Women

All Age Women - D Division Major Premiers2003
All Age Women - D Division Minor & Major Premiers2004
All Age Women - B Division Minor Premiers2006
All Age Women - A Division Minor & Major Premiers2006
All Age Women - A Division Minor & Major Premiers2013

Junior Boys

Under 12 - Super Youth League Major Premiers1994
Under 16 - Super Youth League Major Premiers1995
Under 14 - Premier Youth League Major Premiers1996
Under 15 - Premier Youth League Major Premiers1997
Under 17 - B Grade Major Premiers2012

Junior Girls

Under 16 Girls - Minor & Major Premiers1997, 1998, 1999
Under 16 Girls - Major Premiers2000
Under 16 Girls - A Division Minor & Major Premiers2006
Under 14 Girls - Minor & Major Premiers2001
Under 14 Girls - B Division Minor Premiers2006